Seychelles joining and quitting SADC

Posted in International Organisations at 2:40 pm by Robert Klien

The Southern African Development Community (SADC) was established as the Southern African Development Coordination Conference (SADCC) in 1980, when an alliance of 9 majority-ruled States in Southern Africa was formed to coordinate development projects and to decrease economic dependence on apartheid South Africa. The founding Member States of the SADCC were Angola, Botswana, Mozambique, Lesotho, Swaziland, United Republic of Tanzania, Malawi, Zambia and Zimbabwe. In 1992, the Declaration and Treaty establishing the Southern African Development Community (SADC) was signed. In the following years, South Africa, Mauritius and the Democratic Republic of Congo joined the Community. The Seychelles joined SADC in 1997.

In 2004, the Seychelles pulled out of the Southern African Development Community and had to pay outstanding arrears before leaving. So, its SADC membership lasted for just 7 years. The Seychelles is a small African island country that faced paying big money for membership in SADC which amounted to 500 000 – 550 000 USD per year.

The Seychelles announced pulling out because SADC was not serving any purpose. The officials said that a cost analysis had been carried out to find out what the Seychelles and its people got from country’s membership in SADC and they saw no benefits. No return on Seychelles investment of money, effort and time was seen by the country authorities.

When leaving SADC, Seychelles officials noticed that this organization as such is very good for the African continent, but it does not serve the interests of Seychelles as a tiny island country.

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.